DWI Felony

Below are the penalties for an aggravated DWI in New Hampshire. 

The information on this website is for informational purposes only. You should consult with an NH DWI Felony lawyer to discuss the specific penalties applicable in your case.

Aggravated DWI in NH (felony*)

Class B Felony

*causing an accident which results in serious bodily injury to any person (including the driver)

Jail Sentence

Minimum: 21 days*

Maximum: 3½ - 7 years in prison

*includes 7 days at the Multiple Offender Program (MOP)

Fine

Minimum: $1,000.00; plus 24% penalty assessment

Maximum: $4,000.00; plus 24% penalty assessment

Court-ordered Loss of License

Minimum: 18 months

Maximum: 2 years, or longer if certain other circumstances are alleged

Administrative License Suspension (ALS) by the NH DMV

Minimum: 6 months

In the case of a refusal, the ALS is consecutive to (i.e., in addition to) any court-ordered loss of license.

Required Treatment

7 day Multiple Offender Program (MOP), which must immediately follow any jail sentence.

The court may impose additional treatment and/or counseling conditions as well, including random urine tests.

Ignition Interlock Requirement

Minimum: 1 years

Maximum: 2 years

Insurance Requirements

Proof of an SR-22 prior to reinstatement.

Other Penalties

6 demerit points

Major motor vehicle conviction which counts toward certification as an habitual offender

Your Best Defense Starts Here

For aggressive representation and practical legal advice, contact the experienced New Hampshire attorneys at Samdperil & Welsh, PLLC today.
Exeter, NH
(603) 775-7570
Portsmouth, NH
(603) 436-4901