Felonies and Misdemeanors in NH

nh criminal law

The major difference between a class A misdemeanor and any felony offense in New Hampshire is the length of possible jail time, and where it is served.

A sentence of one year or less is served at the local county jail. A sentence of one year or more is served at the New Hampshire State Prison.

If you are charged with a Felony or Misdemeanor you need an experienced Portsmouth, NH criminal lawyer to help reduce your fine and jail time.

  • Violations - Punishable by fines, and, in some cases, a loss of license. A violation is a non-criminal offense.
  • Class B Misdemeanors - Maximum fine: $1200. No jail. Possible loss of license, depending on the charge.
  • Class A Misdemeanors - Maximum fine: $2000. Up to 1 year in county jail. Probation for as long as 2 years. Possible loss of license in excess of 1 year, depending on the charge.
  • Class B felonies - Punishable by up to 3½ to 7 years in state prison. Up to 5 years of probation. Maximum fine non-drug cases: $4000.
  • Class A felonies - Punishable by up to 7½ to 15 years in state prison. Up to 5 years of probation. Maximum fine in non-drug cases: $4000.
  • Special Felonies (such as most Sexual Assault offenses, Homicide and related charges) often carry sentences ranging from 10-20 years to life in prison.

NOTE: The sentences in many cases may be subject to enhanced penalties and incarceration if the defendant has been previously convicted of a similar crime, has a significant criminal record, or if the victim is a child or otherwise vulnerable person. Our Portsmouth NH criminal lawyers can help you navigate the court system, and get the best possible outcome.

This content is provided for informational purposes only. If you have questions about the type of charge you are facing or the potential punishment, contact a Portsmouth NH criminal lawyer.